David Hayes- Achievements

Since he commenced his training career in 1990, David Hayes has trained in excess of 3000 winners, including 91 Group One winners.

During his time in Australia, he has won the Melbourne Trainers Premiership 7 times, and the Adelaide Premiership 9 times.

David trained for 9 seasons in Hong Kong between 1996-2005, winning two Trainers Premierships while he was there and finished in the top four every season. Winning 17 Group One races including the Hong Kong Derby, Hong Kong International Sprint, The Classic Mile and The Stewards Cup.

Career Highlights

  • 1990 Better Loosen Up wins the Cox Plate
  • 1990 Better Loosen Up won the Japan Cup (only time the race has been won by an Australian Trainer)
  • 1990 Trained World Record Six Group Winners in one day (at Flemington on Derby Day)
  • 1991 Better Loosen Up wins the Australian Cup
  • 1992 Trained an Australian Record 306 winners in Season 1991/92
  • 1993 Fraar wins Caulfield Cup
  • 1994 Blevic wins the VRC Derby
  • 1994 Jeune wins Melbourne Cup
  • 2002 All Thrills Too wins Hong Kong International Sprint
  • 2003 Elegant Fashion wins Hong Kong Derby
  • 2006 Miss Finland wins Golden Slipper
  • 2006 Tawqeet wins Caulfield Cup
  • 2006 Miss Finland wins the VRC Oaks
  • 2006 Fields of Omagh wins Cox Plate
  • 2007 Anamato runs 3rd in the G1 American Oaks at Hollywood Park (U.S.A.)
  • 2007 Kibbutz wins the VRC Derby
  • 2008 Inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame
  • 2009 Niconero wins the Australian Cup
  • 2015 Spillway win the Australian Cup
  • 2015 Criterion wins the Queen Elizabeth Stakes & Caulfield Stakes
  • 2015 Stay With Me wins the Thousand Guineas
  • 2017 Redkirk Warrior wins The Newmarket (first up run)
  • 2017 Catchy wins the Blue Diamond
  • 2017 Boom Time wins the Caulfield Cup
  • 2017 Redkirk Warrior wins successive Newmarket Hcps